No FA action against Barnes for Matic challenge

No retrospective action will taken against Ashley Barnes for the over-the-ball challenge that led to Nemanja Matic’s red card against Burnley on Saturday, the Football Association has confirmed.

The tackle which prompted Matic to push Barnes has been widely condemned, with Blues boss Jose Mourinho describing it as a potentially career-ending challenge.

But the incident was seen by referee Martin Atkinson and the FA have therefore said they will not be punishing Barnes.

In a series of tweets, the FA said: “In the vast majority of challenges for the ball, no retrospective action is taken as the incident has been seen by the match officials.

“Retrospective action introduced as deterrent for ‘off the ball incidents’ [e.g. kicks, stamps etc.] committed out of sight of officials.”

“In line with this rationale, FA confirm no further action in relation to Ashley Barnes.”

Chelsea have appealed against Matic’s dismissal but, if they are not successful, the midfielder will miss Sunday’s Capital One Cup final against Tottenham.

Follow West London Sport on Twitter
Find us on Facebook