Eze given QPR’s iconic number 10 shirt

QPR: Ebere Eze
[/media-credit] Ebere Eze impressed for QPR last season

Ebere Eze has been given QPR’s iconic number 10 shirt for the coming season.

The skilful forward impressed for Rangers towards the end of last season and has been given the shirt number worn by club legends Rodney Marsh and Stan Bowles as well as the likes of Simon Stainrod, John Byrne, Roy Wegerle and Adel Taarabt.

The squad number was not allocated last season – a tribute to Bowles, who is suffering with Alzheimer’s disease.

Bowles famously wore the number 10 shirt in the 1970s

The number 31 shirt was permanently retired as a mark of respect after Ray Jones’ tragic death in 2007.

Meanwhile, keeper Matt Ingram takes the number one spot following Alex Smithies’ recent move to Cardiff.

Summer signing Toni Leistner has been given number 37.

QPR squad numbers

1 Matt Ingram
2 Darnell Furlong
3 Jake Bidwell
4 Grant Hall
6 Sean Goss
7 Luke Freeman
8 Jordan Cousins
9 Conor Washington
10 Ebere Eze
11 Josh Scowen
13 Joe Lumley
14 Ryan Manning
15 Alex Baptiste
17 Matt Smith
18 Aramide Oteh
19 Ilias Chair
20 Bright Osayi-Samuel
21 Massimo Luongo
23 Pawel Wszolek
24 Osman Kakay
25 David Wheeler
26 Seny Dieng
27 Olamide Shodipo
28 Niko Hamalainen
29 Giles Phillips
30 Charlie Owens
31 Ray Jones
33 Joel Lynch
37 Toni Leistner
38 Paul Smyth
40 Idrissa Sylla