Late penalty gives Fulham dramatic victory

Willian (pen)
Willian (pen)

Willian’s stoppage-time penalty gave Fulham a dramatic victory at Craven Cottage.

It was one of three spot-kicks in a match in which Wolves equalised twice before the Whites eventually secured the points.

Alex Iwobi’s early effort was cancelled out by Matheus Cunha, and after Willian restored Fulham’s lead with a second-half penalty, Hee-Chan Hwang netted from another penalty before Willian got the winner.

Marco Silva’s men – who had lost their previous two games – got off to the best possible start when they went ahead with just seven minutes gone.

Iwobi raced into the six-yard box to stroke home, following a well-constructed move down the left flank involving Willian and Antonee Robinson.

Wolves almost levelled in the 14th minute, though, when Hwang broke the hosts’ offside trap before crashing a right foot shot from 18 yards out against the crossbar.

Fulham failed to heed the warning and Gary O’Neil’s side equalised after 21 minutes.

Jean-Richer Bellegarde weaved past Robinson on Wolves’ right-hand side before his cross found the unmarked Cunha – and the striker headed powerfully into the net past keeper Bernd Leno.

Fulham won a penalty, with assistance by VAR, in the 59th minute when Tom Cairney, who had initially won possession going forward, was tripped by Nelson Semedo. Willian took the responsibility, before confidently despatching the spot-kick past Wolves keeper Jose Sa.

The visitors still carried a counter-attacking threat, and Leno had to be alert to stop a fine shot from Mario Lemina.

And Wolves’ enterprise was rewarded when they won a 74th-minute penalty when Tim Ream obstructed Hwang. Hwang made no mistake from the spot to level.

Industrious Fulham kept going – and they seized the points amid drama four minutes into stoppage time.

Wolves midfielder Joao Gomes impeded Harry Wilson, and a penalty was awarded after another VAR consultation. Willian planted the ball home.

Fulham: Leno, Castagne, Bassey, Ream, Robinson, Cairney (Lukic 90-4), Reed, Pereira (Wilson 75), Jimenez (Vinicius 75), Willian (Tosin 90),  Iwobi.