Maupay named EFL’s London player of the year

Brentford striker Neal Maupay has been named the EFL player of the year at the London Football Awards.

Frenchman Maupay, signed from St Etienne in 2017, won the award after scoring 22 goals for the Bees this season.

QPR playmaker Luke Freeman was also on the shortlist along with Millwall striker Lee Gregory and Charlton duo Karlan Grant and Lyle Taylor.

Chelsea’s Eden Hazard was shortlisted for the Premier League award, which was won by Tottenham forward Heung-Min Son.

The winners were decided by a panel of 22 experts made up of a number of ex-players, which included former Fulham and QPR striker Bobby Zamora.